Order for Guest
Your shopping cart is empty.
Saturday 15 June 1.45pm
Douglas Home Marquee

The Walter Scott Prize
Approx 45 minutes

Tickets £5.00

Founded and sponsored by the Duke and Duchess of Buccleuch, the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction is at once a glorious celebration of Scott’s invention of the historical novel and also a source of continuing encouragement to writers in that enormously popular genre. With £25,000 to the winner and £1,000 to all who are shortlisted, it can be life and career changing. Past winners have included Hilary Mantel, Robert Harris, Andrea Levy and Tan Twan Eng. The winner of the 2018 prize, Benjamin Myers, who saw his name on 30 million postmarks congratulating him, announced that he would use some of the prize money to go to Iceland to see a Guns n’ Roses concert!
To mark the 10th anniversary of the Walter Scott Prize, actor Jack Lowden will give selected readings from the books which have made the 2019 shortlist. This year’s titles are:
Peter Carey: A Long Way from Home
Cressida Connolly: After the Party
Samantha Harvey: The Western Wind
Andrew Miller: Now We Shall be Entirely Free
Michael Ondaatje: Warlight
Robin Robertson: The Long Take


Enter Promotional Code here

  • If you have a promotion code, please enter it here before choosing tickets: